top of page

Stirrin' Up the Smoke


Barre, VT-- Everyone loves excitement right? How about you all come to where all the excitement begins….. THUNDER ROAD! I know you all love racing; therefore, you all should go to Thunder Road. Thunder Road is located right off from Fisher Road in Barre, Vermont. It would be fun to go and watch the go karts, late models and more. Opening day is on Sunday, April 15th at 1:15 pm. It’s only $12 per adult, $3 per child ( ages 6-12) and children 5 and under are free. It would be a great opportunity to get out and have some fun!

Everyone that goes to Thunder Road loves it. That was the case with one young racer, Kelsea Woodard. Kelsea is not only a seventeen year old woman racer, but she's the youngest racer at Thunder Road. Kelsea got into racing through her dad. She always loved helping her dad and then eventually she gave it a try herself. Her great grandfather also raced a while ago and that's how Kelsea came up with her race car number (#55). She was fourteen years old when she first started racing at Speedway 51 in Groveton, NH. Her very first stock car was a Mustang. A year later she started racing at Thunder Road. Kelsea is a competitive, dedicated driver:“[Racing] is not just a summer sport, it’s year round.” She reports that she spends countless hours preparing for a single race.

One of Kelsea’s worst experiences has been that people think of her differently just because she's a girl. “The worst experience I’ve had racing would probably be being in the minority and having fellow competitors treat me differently just because I am a girl…...So sometimes I get pushed around a bit on the racetrack or they think I’m going to just let them cut me off because I’m a young girl but in reality you just have to hold your ground. Eventually they realized I’m not putting up with their crap.” Kelsea is an inspiration for young women all over. "I want to show every girl out there that if you think you don’t have what it takes, prove yourself wrong. I had a very tough rookie season (2016) at Thunder Road and I wanted to quit so badly, but I knew I wasn’t a quitter. I came back the next season (2017) and I almost won the street stock Championship."

Kelsea is expected to make her 2018 debut on April 29th, 2018.


Who's Behind the Story
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page